Sign in to follow this  
Pic0o

Final Fantasy XV

I recently wrapped up main story play and half of the DLC expansions.  I feel it started out slow but by time I hit Chapter 04 or so, I was enjoying myself and the uptick in play and story.  Of note, I played on Easy because I'm not a fan of grueling RPG combat.  I wrapped up main story in around 45 hours.  Semi spoilerish but the total amount of chapters is

15 chapters

I played the game in 4k resolution.  Roughly averaging 45 FPS the whole time, while enjoying insane quality looking gameplay.  If I had any slowdowns, it was with cut-scenes as opposed to combat.  I did have some game crashes (4 total), but not until the final chapters.  Checkpoint saves do a good job but I suggest manually saving to be safe.  Especially after a boss fight, etc.

The skill trees are quite robust.  There is also a Wait menu combat system, but I stuck to action mode, short of trying the wait system when I started playing.  If you want to try the game out, there is a demo as well on Steam.

I mentioned crashes and performance.  To note I'm playing with 32 GB DDR4 with an Intel i7-7700k and a Nvidia 1080 Ti (with 391.35 drivers on Windows 10 Pro Build 16299 / 1709) .  Running the HD assets along with the main game has my total install folder at 148 GB.  I am playing from a Samsung 840 Pro Series SSD that the game is installed on.  My Main OS is running off a Samsung 960 EVO M2 SSD.  I did not have the courage to see read speeds from a mechanical hard drive.
Quick note, there are performance display options in the FFXV menus.  I recall seeing load speeds be around 240 MB/s on the load screens.